Green Farm Road, Colne Engaine, Colchester, CO6 2HA

Tel: 01787 222717

e-mail: (Mrs Sarah Cushney, School Business Manager)

Headteacher:  Mrs Julie Sarti

The Diocese of Chelmsford Vine Schools Trust

Diocesan Offices

53 New Street Chelmsford Essex CM1 1AT

Telephone: 01255 863646


These are the current members of the Governing Body. They can be contacted via the school.  

The range of our work can be seen here, in our statement of Strategic Focuses.

The business and personal interests of governors, along with other information about their roles, can be found in Business and Personal Interests of Governors.

Information about any gifts or hospitality received by governors can be found in Gifts and Hospitality to Governors.     (same information for 18/19)

Find out more about each governor and see what they look like here.

Foundation PCC

Mrs Jane Lambert

(Special Educational Needs and Academically More Able and Talented, Early Years Foundation Stage)

The Governing Body meets in full session when there are matters which require the views or agreement of all governors.

Attendance at Full Governing Body and at Committees is very good;  we have only once been inquorate.

Further details about attendance are available on this form.

Governing Body resources, such as policies, handbooks, access to training, are in the Governor area of the VLE, RM Portico.

Full Governing Body Meetings, 2017/2018 at 5.00 pm

12th September 2017
14th November 2017
8th March 2018
27th June 2018

Much of the work of the Governing Body is done in committees and working parties.  

Currently there are two major committees with smaller groups drawn from them which meet when required.

  • Children's Learning and Well Being; Exclusions (chair Murray Thorpe)
  • Resources  (chair Doug McKenzie)
  • Admissions (chair Alison McKeown)
  • Staff Pay
  • Pay Appeals
  • Headteacher's Performance Management & Pay
  • Staff Disciplinary/ Dismissals Appeals
  • Pay Policy Working Party

The structure of committees is in this diagram.

The Scheme of Delegation specifies which functions are delegated to committees.


Committee Meeting Dates 2017- 2018



Children's Learning & Well Being    


October 30th 2017 1.30 pm

March 9th 2018 1.30 pm

June 7th 2018 1.30 pm


October 12th 2017 9.30 am

February 22nd 2018 9.30 am

March 22nd 2018 9.30 am

May 2018 tbc

HT Performance and Pay   



Final Review and Setting New Targets October 17th 2017 10.30 am

Interim Review

April 2018 tbc

 Staff Pay


November 2nd 2017

9.15 am








You can find more details about the work of the Governing Body over the past year in the Governance Statement on the Governors' Newsletters page.

A file of record of all non-confidential governing body meetings is kept and is available for inspection at the school.  Contact the School Office for further details.


Mr Godfrey Evans (Chair)

(Standards, Equalities)


Mrs Alison McKeown (Link Governor)

(Child Protection, Attendance, Religious Education)

Foundation D.E.C.


Mr Doug McKenzie


Mr Murray Thorpe


HH Christopher Barnett QC

Foundation Ex-Officio

Rev Peter Allen

(Pastoral Support, Whistleblower)


 Mrs Marian Ripper

(Child Protection, Health and Safety)




Mr Rob Twyman


Mrs Natalie Pennell

(Pupil Premium)


Mrs Julie Sarti


Mrs Elizabeth Murphy